Fellowships, Honors & Awards

2019 University of Kansas Sustainability Leadership Award

2018 Emerging Scholar Award - Science, Technology & Environmental Politics Section of the American Political Science Association

2016-2017 Teacher of the Year award. University of Kansas School of Public Affairs and Administration. May, 2017.

Highly cited research recognition – “One of the five most highly cited papers in Transportation Research Part D” from 2014-2016. December, 2016.

Science Tour 2016: Research for Sustainable Urban Development participation fellowship Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst (German Academic Exchange Service). January, 2016.

Dissertations Initiative for the Advancement of Climate Change Research (DISCCRS) VII Symposium Scholar. October, 2012.

Clarence Stone Scholar American Political Science Association, Urban Politics Section. August, 2011.

Environmental Protection Agency Science to Achieve Results (EPA STAR) Fellowship – Science & Technology for Sustainability: Environmental Behavior and Decision Making ($111,000 - $37,00 a year for up to 3 years). April, 2010

Morris K. Udall Foundation Dissertation Fellowship ($24,000 – declined because of incompatibility with EPA STAR Fellowship). April, 2010

Indiana University School of Public and Environmental Affairs Teaching Award – Best Associate Instructor, 2010 ($250). March, 2010